Busy Summer

I thought summer was supposed to be lazy?  So far, that is definitely not the case here.  I’ve started a new schedule at work for 9 weeks of the summer, working Monday through Thursday mornings, roughly from 9am to noon.  After that, it’s errands and trying to keep the house in order.  I’m taking some mandatory time for fun though, otherwise we’d spend way too much time at home, like last summer.  Thursday afternoons will find me and the kids hanging at the park w/ my friend Amy and her kids.  They all get along great, which makes it a somewhat easy and relaxing playdate.  Friday is my official day off and I’m hoping to spend most of these Fridays doing something fun with the kids.  So far, two weeks in, the Fridays off have been nice.  It does feel like a “long weekend”, which is what I was hoping for.  I’m going to TRY to chronicle the activities we do this summer to help me remember the fun times we had.

Our first Friday was spent at Pamperin Park, which we love.  We met another mom of twins there for a short while and it was nice to meet someone new.  We had a picnic lunch and then let the kids play.  She had to leave early so her kids could nap, so my kids and I stayed a while longer.  We had a little photo shoot so we could make a nice Father’s Day gift for Daddy (which turned out great!).  We walked along Duck Creek and saw two Herons hanging out in the water, catching fish for lunch.  It was a really enjoyable afternoon.  After the park we went home to cool off with some ice cream and a movie.

Unfortunately our second Friday was not a fun day.  We spent the day at home while our new furnace and air conditioner were installed.  Our AC unit decided it was done for good, and I was starting to suffer.  My asthma is really sensitive to humidity and with the warm, humid weather we’ve been having, I was resorting to using my inhaler a lot more than I’d like to.  Since our furnace was also really old and surely needed replacing as well, we decided to do the smart thing and replace everything at once.  In the long run, it will save us a little money and now we know we have a system that shouldn’t fail in the dead of winter!  It’s also a much more efficient hybrid system, which is supposed to considerably lower our energy costs.  I will be anxious to see what our energy bills look like this winter!

This week I have a moms of multiples club meeting, and I am running the program for the first time.  I decided to host a craft night and found a fun project for us all to make together.  I’ve been busy preparing for this also.  Lots of paper to cut!  I also spent some time labeling all the tools I’ll be bringing with me.  My scrapping supplies don’t often leave the house, so I tend to label things right before I need to take them somewhere.  🙂  I started making mine to show the ladies on Thursday night and will save at least one page to make while they watch.  We’re making mini-albums out of empty toilet paper rolls.  I know it sounds weird, but it is definitely one of the cutest “trash to treasure” projects I have ever seen.  I’ll try to post pictures when mine is finished.

Looking forward to the upcoming holiday weekend.  Our plans are still up in the air, but we do hope to catch some fireworks, get some landscaping done, and just enjoy the time together.  Maybe we’ll catch a drive-in movie and pick some raspberries up north.  Really not sure yet.  Hopefully we’ll get it all figured out soon.  The weekend is almost here!

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Busy Summer

  1. I’d love to see your toilet paper roll albums when they’re done. They sound cute and might be something I’d like to try. (In my copious free-time, of course.)

  2. ericah78

    They’re actually really quick & easy to make. I’ll make sure to post pics when it’s done!

  3. I would be interested in seeing the result, too! We have a ton of paper towel rolls, wonder if they would work as well…

    Have a wonderful 4th of July weekend!

Leave a Reply

