Baking Day Results

I had a very productive baking day this week.  I made the strawberry bread, carrot muffins and two batches of mini banana muffins.  I didn’t get around to making the cookies though, so I’ll try to do those today.  I baked quite a bit extra this week as I’m going on a scrapbooking retreat this weekend and offered to bring some breakfast items, so I hope the other ladies enjoy it!

Carrot muffins (still cooling, before frosting), 48 mini banana muffins, two loaves strawberry bread

Carrot muffins (still cooling, before frosting), 48 mini banana muffins, two loaves strawberry bread

I’m taking 6 carrot muffins, one strawberry bread and one bag of mini muffins with me.  The other banana muffins are already in the freezer to be taken out when the other items are gone.  I still have some carrot muffins in the freezer from last week as well.  It’s really nice having these baked items on hand as an alternative to cereal.  Yesterday the kids were asking for muffins and all I had to do was grab a couple from the freezer and thaw them in the microwave!

I tried something new w/ my strawberry bread too.  The recipe calls for 1.25 cups oil, which is a lot.  It’s a very dense bread.  I’ve heard many times that you can often replace some or all of the oil in certain recipes w/ applesauce, so I decided to give it a try.  I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 3/4 cup oil.  It baked up in a completely different shape and color than it usually does, so I was a little nervous.  Of course I had to taste some last night to make sure it was okay.  It’s still very good.  It has a lighter, fluffier consistency and tastes nearly the same.  I don’t think I’d increase the amount of applesauce any more though.  I think that amount worked out just right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

