The Return of Baking Day

I finally got to devote an afternoon to baking again.  I’ve been baking sporadically for the past month or two; a breakfast bread here, some muffins there, but nothing too special or time-consuming.  Today, I felt inspired to do something different.  I didn’t plan ahead at all, but took a look around at what I had on hand and searched for recipes online.  I just got two bags of baby carrots this week and also had a few packages of cream cheese on hand, so I decided to make carrot muffins w/ cream cheese frosting.  Yummy!  Emily and I sampled one when I finished making the frosting and they were quite good.  Definitely looking forward to breakfast tomorrow!  I made two batches and stuck one in the freezer.  I also have plenty of extra frosting, so I’ll have to think of a good use for it.  I also had some peaches that I sliced and froze last summer, so I thawed those and made peach cobbler for dessert.  It is so good served warm w/ vanilla ice cream.  Everyone loved it except for Sam.  He said, “Don’t like it.  Too messy.”  It’s really not messy, but w/ a limited two-year-old vocabulary I guess that’s the best reason he could come up with.  🙂  I had a really productive day today, and it felt good to make some yummy treats for the family, especially to make something new and have it turn out great!

Here are some pictures (just for you, Shelly!).  🙂  Enjoy!

Carrot Muffin with Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot Muffin with Cream Cheese Frosting

A slab of Peach Cobbler with vanilla ice cream

A slab of Peach Cobbler with vanilla ice cream

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “The Return of Baking Day

  1. No pictures?! You can’t write about all these yummy things with no pictures!!

    I once had a little boy (not mine!) tell me he couldn’t finish his piece of the ice cream cake I made for dessert because it was “too cheap” for him. I was a little offended until his mom explained that he meant it was “too rich” for him. 🙂

    (It’s a oreo crust with ice cream then fudge on the top. I think I posted the recipe on my blog last year. It’s a great summer dessert. You don’t have to turn on the oven.)

  2. ericah78

    There’s the pictures for you Shelly! “Too cheap”, that is funny. 🙂 I love ice cream cakes too. I’ve made one w/ oreo crust and mint chip ice cream that’s really good too.

Leave a Reply

