Friendship bread

Have you ever heard of Amish Friendship Bread?  Until a few months ago, I hadn’t.  I overheard someone mention it at preschool one day, and then saw someone passing out starters at a GBAMOM meeting shortly after that.  When I saw it for myself, I was quite skeptical that those bags of slop would make good bread.  I asked a few people about it and everyone said it’s great.  So, my friend Kris from GBAMOM gave me a starter at our March meeting.  When I made the bread, I used regular chocolate pudding and didn’t think to omit the cinnamon.  Chocolate and cinnamon is actually not a bad combination, but I’m not crazy about it, so I wasn’t totally in love w/ my first attempt at the bread.  However, when I gave a starter to my mother-in-law, she gave me a recipe she’d gotten in the past w/ twelve variations on making the bread.  I kept a starter for myself and made my second breads w/ vanilla pudding, cinnamon and raisins.  It was heavenly!!  On to the third batch, and I kept one starter for myself again.  This time I made it using chocolate fudge pudding and chocolate chips.  It was absolutely sinful!!!  Instead of looking for more people to pass the starters to, I decided to keep and freeze all of them.  Now, the next time I “need” friendship bread, I just have to thaw out the starter for a day and make it into bread.  When I get down to my last starter, I can let it ferment and make a whole new batch of starters.  I never expected to like it so much.   What a wonderful gift it has been!

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking

3 responses to “Friendship bread

  1. Well, hoarding all the starter in your freezer isn’t very friendly!

    Just teasing!

    We LOVE friendship bread. (I gave Kris her starter.) My favorite is the “basic” recipe with the vanilla pudding. I always wanted to try pistachio pudding with pistachio nuts. YUM! Maybe next time.

    You can make the starter yourself too. It’s really easy. I found it once when I was craving friendship bread and I had no friends! It was hard to find back then in the P.G. era (Pre-Google). Uh-oh…I better stop…I’m making myself sound old! 🙂

  2. ericah78

    Hey, when you make that stuff continuously, it’s easy to run out of people to give it to! If anyone wants a starter next time I make them, just let me know! 😉

  3. Shannon

    Totally got hooked on the stuff about 7 years ago and never really had anyone to give starter to, so I also “horded” it in the freezer. Loved the stuff. I should make it again one of these days. Maybe once the baby starts letting me do things other than carry her around!

Leave a Reply

