I’ll stick with CVS, thank you!

Now I know why I’ve been avoiding Walgreens thus far in my deal-making adventures.  Their rules are a little more complex than I’d like.  I got the aforementioned Register Rewards last week and decided to use them to buy vitamins, which we’re nearly out of.  Just so happens that this week Wags has Centrum buy one get one 1/2 off, plus I had $3 MC’s I could use.  I also decided to pick up some Easter candy (mama bunny has baskets to fill!) and made sure that the number of coupons I was using (including RR’s) matched the number of items purchased.  I thought I had put together one sweet deal and was really excited about it.  But, when I checked out, the register wouldn’t accept all of my coupons.  The guy told me the computer decided that the profitability of my purchase was not high enough.  What?  Not sure how that makes any sense since the store gets the money back from the manufacturer coupons, and the RR’s come from the store, to be used to purchase more items from the store.  In order to make my transaction go through, I had to give up one of my $3 MC’s in exchange for my $10 RR, and I couldn’t use my $1 RR.  All in all, I still got a great price for my purchase, but it could have been better.  I left there feeling pretty annoyed.  Here’s what I got though…

Centrum $9.99

Centrum  $4.99 (1/2 off)

Centrum Kids $9.99

Reese’s Eggs $2.99

Hershey Eggs 2/$5.00 (sale)

-(2) $3.00 MC’s for Centrum

-(1) $1.50 MC for candy

-$10.00 RR’s

___________________

$14.97 plus tax

Now, I guess I shouldn’t complain too loudly.  I did save more than I spent, which is always a plus.  But it would’ve been even nicer to get another $4 off my total.  Oh well.  Guess I’ll never fully understand the inner-workings of Walgreens.  😉

2 Comments

Filed under Deals, Saving Money

2 responses to “I’ll stick with CVS, thank you!

  1. Don’t feel bad…no one will ever understand Walgreens. If you ever figure it out they’ll change the rules! I have a love/hate relationship with Walgreens. I love some of their deals but hate their ridiculous way of doing things! I’ve sent two email complaints to their corporate office this week alone! Every week I leave the store saying “That’s it! I’m done with Walgreens”, then the next great deal comes along and I’m back trying again!!! 🙂 CVS is soooooo much better!

  2. Erin D

    It’s always a crapshoot for me too. Still waiting for those CVSs to trickle their way down south of Madison…….!

Leave a Reply

