Baking Day results part 2

Sorry it took so long to wrap this up!  It’s been a busy week.  Here are the products of my baking day last week…

Nestle break n' bake cookies

Nestle break n' bake cookies

These cookies looked really good, but were pretty disappointing.  I definitely like Pilsbury’s cookies better, but both pale in comparison to homemade.  I think I’ll save my break n’ bakes for random weeknight desserts and try to only make homemade cookies on my baking days.

Irish Soda Bread

Irish Soda Bread

The Irish Soda Bread was really easy and REALLY good.  It’s the first kneaded dough bread I’ve ever made.  I’d never had soda bread before, so the taste caught me off guard at first, but after a couple bites I realized I loved it.  It’s a very dense bread that definitely needs some butter on it and is great for dipping.  We had it that night with an Italian Pasta Florentine, which was good, but it was much better the next night with Brian’s chili.  The kids gobbled up this bread and Brian even ate some as a snack, so I know I’ll be making this again.  I’ll probably plan it to go with chili again!

My brown Red Velvet Cupcakes

My brown Red Velvet Cupcakes

Although they weren’t red, the cupcakes were delicious.  I had some cream cheese frosting on hand, so I used that, but I think vanilla would have tasted even better with these.  I will definitely make these again as well.  The recipe makes 20 cupcakes, so we had them for dessert a few times and I even sent some with Brian to share with friends.  I’ll have to keep these in mind for future school birthday treats.

Baking day will fall on Friday this week.  I will definitely be making my pumpkin bread.  Haven’t decided what else I’ll make yet.  I need to make a grocery list tonight and shop in the morning, so we’ll see what else pops in my head.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

