Cub Foods Deal this week

I wanted to post this earlier in the week just in case anyone else wanted to get in on the deals.  Sorry so late!

I have NEVER shopped at Cub before.  I always buy my groceries at Festival.  It’s a much nicer store, closer to my house, and they have a great selection.  But, when my hubby and I were looking through the paper last Sunday, the Cub ad caught Brian’s eye.  The front page is full of items we regularly buy, with a special that if you purchase $30 worth of these items, you’ll get $15 toward your next grocery purchase.  Upon looking further into the ad, I discovered a similar deal that if you spend $20 on Nestle items, you’ll get $5 toward your next purchase.  I had MC’s for EVERY item on these two pages that I was interested in purchasing.  So, I’d get about $50 in groceries that would stock up my pantry, subtract my MC’s and have $20 to put toward other groceries.  Sounds great, right?  Turns out the deals got even sweeter.

Within the Cub ad there were coupons for BOGO Golden Plump chicken breasts, BOGO Hormel pork chops, $0.68 ground turkey, buy two Dole salad bags get 2lbs. bananas FREE, and buy 8 Rice-a-Roni/Pasta Roni for $10 get $5 off any meat purchase (which stacked with the BOGO deal!).  So, here’s what I did…

Round 1…

Paid $44.61 for everything you see here after $10.10 in MC's and earned $20 off my next purchase

Paid $44.61 for everything you see here after $10.10 in MC's and earned $20 off my next purchase

Round 2…

Paid $7.29 for everything you see here after store coupons and MC's

Paid $7.29 for everything you see here after store coupons and MC's

Did you see that? $7.29!!! I saved almost $40.  Now my freezer is stocked with meat too.  I will definitely be keeping a closer eye on the Cub ads from now on.  I still like shopping at Festival much better, but for deals like this, I will put up with the crappy layout at Cub!  Happy shopping!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Deals

5 responses to “Cub Foods Deal this week

  1. WOW! I’m putting a direct link to this post on GBSavers!

    Hope to see you tonight!!!

  2. ericah78

    You got me hooked on the deal making! 🙂 See you tonight!

  3. Lisa Smith

    You’re lucky – All of the Cub Foods here closed. They oped Ultra Foods, but the deals don’t seem as good at the ones you got!

  4. Erin D

    I read in the paper today that they’re closing 2 Cub Foods in Green Bay. I don’t know if that’s where you were going! They are also closing one in Madison. I was really going to start looking at their ads too!

  5. ericah78

    Yeah, Brian told me that last night. Very few people shop at that store, so I can’t say I’m surprised. Guess I’ll have to grab whatever deals come up before they close! I’m hoping maybe Roundy’s will buy it so we’ll have a Copps/Pick N’ Save closer to us. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

