Not the Happiest of Holidays

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve sat down to blog.  I wish that the only reason had been the holiday hustle and bustle, but that was only part of it.  We had three whole weeks of people taking turns getting sick at our house.  Thankfully everyone is better now and I hope they stay that way for a long while.

It all started with Emily on Sunday Dec. 14th.  The day before had been a long but nice day of holiday shopping and we expected more of the same on Sunday.  Em woke up early, came to my bedside and told me she threw up.  So began two weeks of stomach bug #1.  First Em, then me, then Sam, then Josh.  Just when we thought it was over, Em got sick again the 21st.  Stomach bug #2, thankfully was just a 24hr. bug.  She got better quickly and our plans for Christmas moved forward.  I spent the entire day on the 23rd baking cookies, breads, and making candies for our Christmas Eve feast.  I spent that entire night praying to the porcelain gods.  Stomach bug #2 decided to claim another victim just in time to ruin our plans.  My parents, who were already in town to visit, took Emily to see a movie and then came over for a short visit in the evening so we could exchange gifts.  My brother and sister stayed home.  Like Em, I recovered quickly and was well enough to go participate in our Christmas Day festivities.  Everyone seemed to be feeling very well.  Until Josh started crying and we discovered he’d exploded in his pants.  He had to be hosed down in the bathtub and changed into a fresh outfit (which thankfully I’d thought to pack, just in case).  Josh continued to “explode” the rest of the evening and we had to do laundry at Grandma and Grandpa’s house before we could take the poor child home.  Josh and Sam’s upset tummies lasted two whole weeks from the onset of stomach bug #1.  I thought the yucky diaper changes (and bedding and clothing changes) would never end.  Finally they did, just in time for New Year’s.

We made last minute plans to have friends and family over.  Of course we couldn’t get through this holiday unscathed either.  Josh developed a fever the night of the 30th.  He was cranky and hot, but we couldn’t find anything else wrong with him.  I had Brian run him to the dr. on the morning of the 31st, thinking he might have an ear infection.  Nope, “just another virus” the dr. said.  Great.  Our friends didn’t want to catch whatever Josh had and they were battling a cold with their kids.  We ended up just having my brother-in-law’s family over.  We had a good time and they spent the night and most of New Year’s Day.  Josh was crabby and the fever stuck around until the afternoon, but after his nap on New Year’s Day, the fever was gone and he was back to his old self.  No one else got whatever that was, thankfully.  I just hope the rest of the winter goes by without much more than a sniffle.  I think we got our fair share of winter illness already!

Somehow, Brian managed to escape catching everything.  He attributes it to taking his vitamins, so I think I’m going to follow his lead.  This morning myself and all three kids had a vitamin with breakfast.  I think that will be one of my resolutions… try to keep us as healthy as possible!!

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Not the Happiest of Holidays

  1. Glad everybody is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

