Day of deals

Sunday was a big shopping day.  I was on a mission to find Christmas outfits for the kids.  We’re taking them to get portraits taken soon, so I needed to find something.  After walking through multiple stores without finding anything I liked, I finally went into Gymboree.  I don’t normally shop there because of the high prices.  They have adorable stuff, but I just can’t justify spending so much on clothes that are outgrown so quickly.  I had a 20% off coupon though, so I decided to see what they had.  Boy, did I ever pick the right day to stop in there!  They already had all of the holiday apparel marked down up to 40% off and had a sale offering another 20% off the markdowns.  Plus, I was able to stack my 20% off coupon on top of that!  I found some great holiday clothes and a few tops on the clearance rack for Emily.  Here’s what I got…

Red velvet dress, reg. price $49.50, marked down to $36.99, paid $23.69

2 Red sweater vests, reg. price $26.50 each, marked down to $19.99, paid $12.79 each

2 long sleeve shirts, reg. price $19.50 each, marked down to $11.99, paid $7.67 each

1 long sleeve shirt, reg. price $19.50, marked down to $7.99, paid $5.11

Total spent: $73.54, which is a far cry from the $169.86 it would have cost paying full price.  I love stumbling on deals!  Especially on high quality items like these.  This is the first time I’ve bought Emily a fancy holiday dress because I usually try to look for something more practical.  But she looks gorgeous in it and I couldn’t pass it up for that price.  To make my deal even sweeter, I earned $25 in Gymbucks for spending over $50.  For ten days in January I can spend those Gymbucks to get some FREE clothes for my kids.  Can’t pass that up.

I also had to do my CVS shopping of course.  I didn’t have any ECB’s to spend, but I had a $5off$30 coupon expiring that day.  We were in need of some AA and C batteries and CVS has a great deal on Duracell this week.  I combined that deal with the Glade deal running this week to hit my $30 total.  Here’s what I got…

2 Glade Candles, on sale 2/$5

2 Glade Glass Scents, on sale 2/$5 – (2) $1.00 MC = $3

Duracell AA 16 pack, $9.99 on sale – $0.75 MC = $9.24

2 Duracell C 4 pack, $5.99 each on sale – (2) $0.75 MC = $10.48

After my $5off$30 coupon and my MC’s, I spent $24.20.  Regular price for everything would have been $44.97, so the sales and coupons were a big savings.  Plus, I earned $15 in ECB’s for spending $20 on Duracell, and $5 ECB’s for spending $10 on Glade.  So, I have $20 ECB’s to pay for my next trip.  I’m hoping that there will be some really good deals in the coming weeks that will lead to some of those under $1 shopping trips that the die-hard CVSers are so good at making.

Leave a comment

Filed under Deals

Leave a Reply

