Mommy’s little “helpers”

The boys have hit the helping stage.  They want to “help” mommy with the daily chores, which sounds nice, but when your helpers are two almost-two-year-olds, it’s more hinderance than anything.  Don’t get me wrong, I do find it adorable the way they come running over shouting “help, help” and push each other out of the way just to grab on to the end of the laundry basket and carry it down the hallway with me.  The problem is that most of the time, they want to help with things that are far beyond what they are capable of doing.  And, when I offer them small tasks that they can do, they don’t want to.  I remember going through this same stage with Emily, but I think its a little tougher with the twins.  They are both so eager that they fight each other for the opportunity to help, only to be told that they can’t help with mommy’s task, which leads to two boys in tears and a frustrated mommy.  The really sad part is that when they are capable of helping with the chores, they won’t come running to help.  They’ll avoid it at all costs.  Oh well… I guess I’ll have to get more creative with my chores to find little ways to include the boys, because telling them “no” is not going so well.

On a side note, I just want to say I’m so sorry to my good friends Bill and Olya for the bad news they got today.  I’ll be keeping fingers crossed for you.  I hope that a solution comes quickly and you end up with something even better in the end.  Best of luck!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Life, NaBloPoMo, The Twins

One response to “Mommy’s little “helpers”

  1. Olya

    Thank you, Erica!

Leave a Reply

